Monday, May 23, 2011

Gluten Free Living

I am learning that it is extremely difficult to avoid gluten. I just learned that even Mcondald's fries have gluten! read the ingredients:
Potatoes, vegetable oil (canola oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, natural beef flavor [wheat and milk derivatives]*), citric acid (preservative), dextrose, sodium acid pyrophosphate (maintain color), salt. Prepared in vegetable oil ((may contain one of the following: Canola oil, corn oil, soybean oil, hydrogenated soybean oil with TBHQ and citric acid added to preserve freshness), dimethylpolysiloxane added as an antifoaming agent). *CONTAINS: WHEAT AND MILK (Natural beef flavor contains hydrolyzed wheat and hydrolyzed milk as starting ingredients).

Not that I want to be eating McDonald's fries, but now I know that it might cause a setback in our healing if we do happen to have some. Not to mention most fast food places use wheat products in practically everything!

Here are some other sources:


What to look for on labels:
• Always read ingredient labels -• For example, a number of Tea’s may contain barley
• If the food contains any of the ingredients on the hidden sources list,  then you need to contact the manufacturer and ask them if the product is 100% gluten free:
o Modified Food Starch (In North America, most are GF)  o Natural Flavors (Most are Gluten Free) - o Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (HPV) - o Hydrolyzed Plant Protein (HPP)  - o Dextrin o Seasonings


Gluten Sources That You Might Not Think About:
Chapstick, toothpaste, vitamins, Medications, coffee mate,

• Chapstick, Lipstick
• Dairy Substitutes
• Licorice
• Malt or malt flavoring
• Modified food starch
• Playdough
• Brewers Yeast
• Prepared cake frosting
• Soy Sauce
• Medications (esp. in tablet form: Over the counter, prescription, and herbal supplements)
• Toothpaste
• Salad Dressing, Soups, Gravy (Malt Vinegar /wheat)
• Seasonings
• Malted Beverages
• Communion Wafers
• Vitamins



I have also read that the 'broth' that they inject into poultry to plump it up could contain gluten derivatives. Malted barley is added to a lot of processed foods that I need to be aware of. Another thing that needs to be addressed is that other grains contain different kinds of gluten like corn, rice and millet. So even though we have seen improvements going off wheat, rye, barley, and oats, we haven't stopped eating corn. I do get bloating and fatigue from corn. Josiah has some bad behaviors after eating corn that would lead me to believe that all grains needs to go from our diet, which the full GAPS diet does do, it was just hard for me to stop altogether because popcorn was such an addiction. I didn't have any for almost two days and I felt really good. I am eager to see the results of eliminating all grains. I need to figure out if I am going to be a food nazi with the gluten, will I eliminate anything with 'natural flavors'? According to some celiac websites those things are gluten free, but according to one doctor, since he says corn has gluten, that food additives derived from corn will also be a problem.

Maybe the reason people with gluten intolerance don't ever heal is that they still eat a lot of the gluten containing flours like rice. Rice has the lowest amount of gluten so that is why they probably don't notice the overall effects. That is why the GAPS diet is so good at helping people heal- it eliminates ALL grains, and ALL industrially processed foods! And then with the addition of meat stocks and healthy fats it helps to rebuild the gut wall so that when someone eats a gluten containing crumb they won't be paralyzed! That is unless they have a true allergy, but I have heard stories of people who thought they were allergic and turns out they were able to reverse it and not fear gluten anymore. It is encouraging that we may not have to be so careful in the future, but I will be considering leaving out all grains for the rest of our lives except maybe for special occasions. We will see!

No comments:

Post a Comment